Praise

Praise for Jess Keating’s MY LIFE IS A ZOO SERIES

  • “Following in the tradition of Judy Blume and Paula Danziger, debut author Keating delivers a fun-filled, pitch-perfect book about one of the most fraught stages of life. An amusing, highly readable book about the perils of being 12 in a snake-eat-snake world.” —Kirkus Starred Review
  • “Keating maintains the same humorous, lightly soul-searching tone, perfect for a barely teenage girl…An enjoyable frolic with a great message that kids won’t even notice they’re absorbing.” —Kirkus
  • “With her trademark kid-oriented wit and lighthearted touch, Keating leads readers through the daily emotional ups and downs of the typical just-turned-teenager who is trying to juggle hormones, parents, schoolwork, and, most importantly, her friends. Ana’s voice is refreshingly distinct. A sweet reminder that being a middle school girl is about far more than boys and makeup.” —Kirkus Starred Review
  • “This debut novel deals with the hardships of junior high in a funny and zany, yet thoughtful, manner.” —Library Media Connection
  • “A zoologist, an educator, and an author, Jess Keating wrote the perfect book for students: a middle grade guide for navigating a zoo- I mean, middle school…My Life is a Zoo series speaks to tweens…” —About.com
  • “The voice of Ana is one of the most genuine personalities in middle grade literature.” —Margie Myers-Culver, Nerdy Book Club Librarian
  • “An absolutely perfect summer read.” —Girls’ Life Magazine
  • A Los Angeles Times Summer Book Pick (2014)
  • A Nerdy Book Club Award Winner (2014)
  • A Forest of Reading Red Maple Nominee (2015)
  • A Georgia Children’s Book Award Finalist (2015-2016)
  • A Rocky Mountain Book Award Nominee (2015)

 

Praise for Jess Keating’s PINK IS FOR BLOBFISH

  • “The 2016 Ambassador to Young People’s Science and Nature books is unquestionably the blobfish.” -Shelftalker
  • “Readers will never look at pink the same way…. Keating maintains a casual tone while delivering intriguing details about each animal.”  —Publishers Weekly
  • “It’s clearly time to rethink pink, people.” —Shelf Awareness
  • “You haven’t seen amazing non-fiction writing if you have not read Pink is for Blobfish by Jess Keating and David DeGrand. Not only is this a book that students have to pick up when they see it, they keep returning to it.” —Pernille Ripp, Creator of the Global Read Aloud
  • “The comical tone makes this particularly inviting, and DeGrand’s cartoonish illustrations only add to the fun. A playful introduction to the kookier corners of the animal kingdom.” —Booklist
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month Editor’s Pick (Feb 2016)
  • An Amazon “Best Books of the Year so far” Pick (2016)
  • A Forest of Reading Silver Birch Express Honor Book (2017)
  • A Nerdy Book Club Award Winner—Best Nonfiction (2016)
  • A Wisconsin State Reading List Committee Favorite (2017)
  • A Utah Beehive Short List Choice (2018)
  • A Monarch Award Nominee (2018)
  • A Texas Topaz Nonfiction Reading List Choice (2017)
  • A Huffington Post “Best Nonfiction Book of the Year—Honorable Mention” (2016)
  • A Scholastic Book Fair Featured Book (Spring 2017)
  • Buzzfeed’s “Incredibly Awesome Books to Give This Year” List (2016)
  • A School Library Journal’s “Fuse Eight” Best Science and Nature Book (2016)
  • A “Best Nonfiction Picture Book” at School Library Journal’s “Fuse Eight” (2016)
  • A Wisconsin State Reading List Committee Favorite (2017)
  • A Utah Beehive Short List Choice (2018)
  • A Monarch Award Nominee (2018)
  • A Texas Topaz Nonfiction Reading List Choice (2017)
  • A Rocky Mountain Book Award Nominee (2018)
  • A WLMA Towner Award Nominee (2018)

PRAISE FOR JESS KEATING’S SHARK LADY

  • “A tribute to the courage and indomitable will of the renowned ichthyologist. This eloquent profile follows Clark from a childhood visit to an aquarium through her demonstration that sharks can actually be trained and so are not “mindless killers” as widely supposed.” —Kirkus
  • “The aquatic creatures, drawn with big doe eyes, are depicted as friendly, happy creatures. Back matter includes additional information in a section titled “Shark Bites.”  A fine way to introduce young children to science.” —School Library Journal
  • “The writing flows well, keeping a clear focus on Clark and her dream, while including pertinent details from the career of “the Shark Lady,” known for her groundbreaking research and her work to change people’s perceptions of sharks… A lively introduction to an American scientist.” —Booklist
  • An Amazon Editor’s Pick (June 2017)