Praise

Praise for Jess Keating’s MY LIFE IS A ZOO SERIES

  • “Following in the tradition of Judy Blume and Paula Danziger, debut author Keating delivers a fun-filled, pitch-perfect book about one of the most fraught stages of life. An amusing, highly readable book about the perils of being 12 in a snake-eat-snake world.” —Kirkus Starred Review
  • “Keating maintains the same humorous, lightly soul-searching tone, perfect for a barely teenage girl…An enjoyable frolic with a great message that kids won’t even notice they’re absorbing.” —Kirkus
  • “With her trademark kid-oriented wit and lighthearted touch, Keating leads readers through the daily emotional ups and downs of the typical just-turned-teenager who is trying to juggle hormones, parents, schoolwork, and, most importantly, her friends. Ana’s voice is refreshingly distinct. A sweet reminder that being a middle school girl is about far more than boys and makeup.” —Kirkus Starred Review
  • “This debut novel deals with the hardships of junior high in a funny and zany, yet thoughtful, manner.” —Library Media Connection
  • “A zoologist, an educator, and an author, Jess Keating wrote the perfect book for students: a middle grade guide for navigating a zoo- I mean, middle school…My Life is a Zoo series speaks to tweens…” —About.com
  • “The voice of Ana is one of the most genuine personalities in middle grade literature.” —Margie Myers-Culver, Nerdy Book Club Librarian
  • “An absolutely perfect summer read.” —Girls’ Life Magazine
  • A Los Angeles Times Summer Book Pick (2014)
  • A Nerdy Book Club Award Winner (2014)
  • A Forest of Reading Red Maple Nominee (2015)
  • A Georgia Children’s Book Award Finalist (2015-2016)
  • A Rocky Mountain Book Award Nominee (2015)

Praise for Jess Keating’s PINK IS FOR BLOBFISH

  • “The 2016 Ambassador to Young People’s Science and Nature books is unquestionably the blobfish.” -Shelftalker
  • “Readers will never look at pink the same way…. Keating maintains a casual tone while delivering intriguing details about each animal.”  —Publishers Weekly
  • “It’s clearly time to rethink pink, people.” —Shelf Awareness
  • “You haven’t seen amazing non-fiction writing if you have not read Pink is for Blobfish by Jess Keating and David DeGrand. Not only is this a book that students have to pick up when they see it, they keep returning to it.” —Pernille Ripp, Creator of the Global Read Aloud
  • “The comical tone makes this particularly inviting, and DeGrand’s cartoonish illustrations only add to the fun. A playful introduction to the kookier corners of the animal kingdom.” —Booklist
  • An Amazon Best Book of the Month Editor’s Pick (Feb 2016)
  • An Amazon “Best Books of the Year so far” Pick (2016)
  • A Huffington Post “Best Nonfiction Book of the Year—Honorable Mention” (2016)
  • A Forest of Reading Silver Birch Nominee (2017)
  • A Scholastic Book Fair Featured Book (Spring 2017)
  • Buzzfeed’s “Incredibly Awesome Books to Give This Year” List (2016)
  • A School Library Journal’s “Fuse Eight” Best Science and Nature Book (2016)
  • A “Best Nonfiction Picture Book” at School Library Journal’s “Fuse Eight”
  • A Nerdy Book Club Award Winner—Best Nonfiction (2016)
  • A Wisconsin State Reading List Committee Favorite (2017)
  • A Utah Beehive Short List Choice (2018)
  • A Monarch Award Nominee (2018)
  • A Texas Topaz Nonfiction Reading List Choice (2017)