Welcome!

Hello and welcome to my corner of the Internet! You can find out information about me and my books below, and by navigating the links above. Thanks for stopping by!

MY BOOKS

 

 

THE “MY LIFE IS A ZOO” SERIES

The hilarious and heartfelt adventures of a 12-year old girl who lives in a zoo with her zoologist parents, twin brother, and a host of scaly and feathered creatures. Contains loads of laughs, embarrassing moments, and animal poop.

Great for kids who love:

  • Funny books, moments, and characters
  • Animals, zoos, aquariums, and nature
  • Clever, brave, and adventurous characters

Kirkus Starred Review: “Following in the tradition of Judy Blume and Paula Danziger, debut author Keating delivers a fun-filled, pitch-perfect book…”

ORDER THE SERIES: Indiebound Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-A-Million | Jabberwocky Kids | Indigo

————————————————————————————————————

THE WORLD OF WEIRD ANIMALS SERIES

A funny nonfiction series that explores the incredible world of weird and bizarre creatures. Full of amazing facts, eye-catching, colorful (and sometimes gross!) photos, and illustrator David DeGrand’s goofy-wonderful cartoons. A must-read series for curious kids.

Great for kids who love:

    • too-cool-to-be-true animal facts
    • hilarious comics
    • stinky, scaly, slimy, cuddly, or feathery creatures
  • exploring the world one page at a time

“A playful introduction to the kookier corners of the animal kingdom.” —Booklist

ORDER THE SERIES: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-A-Million | Random House Children’s Books | Indigo

————————————————————————————————————

SHARK LADY

A beautiful, lyrical nonfiction picture book about shark scientist (and all around amazing woman!) Eugenie Clark! This book not only depicts a ‘real life’ view of science, but also dozens of amazing creatures and the role that Eugenie Clark has played in shark research and ocean conservation. Along with the text, the illustrations are meticulously detailed, and every inch of them is scientifically robust, making this a great book to prompt discussions, explorations in science, and STEM units!

Great for kids who love:

    • Sharks, the ocean, and other marine animals
    • Adventure, science, nerdy-brilliant-girls-in-action
    • to see incredible examples of women in STEM fields
  • vibrant, wonder-inducing illustrations

“Boldly hued and fluidly graceful, illustrations from Marta Álvarez Miguéns, complete with fun facts and a timeline, creatively convey Eugenie’s courage and determination as she dives into books, laboratories, education, and open waters to share her love and knowledge of the often misunderstood predators.” —Foreword Reviews

ORDER THE BOOK: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-A-MillionIndigo

————————————————————————————————————

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPCOMING BOOKS…

NIKKI TESLA AND THE FERRET-PROOF DEATH RAY (Elements of Genius Book #1; with Scholastic, July 2019)

Here’s a sneak peek!

There are only so many times a kid can invent an instrument of global destruction without getting grounded. So when Nikki’s death ray accidentally blows up her bedroom (if you can call a pet ferret with an itchy trigger finger an accident), she’s sent to the only place that can handle her. Genius Academy is a school for history’s greatest brains. Leo da Vinci? Charlotte Darwin? Bert Einstein? All extraordinary. Yet even among her fellow prodigies, Nikki feels like an outsider thanks to a terrible secret she can’t let anyone discover. Ever.

But when her death ray is stolen, Nikki must stop worrying about fitting in and learn to play nice with her new classmates. Because it doesn’t take a genius to track a thief around the world, outwit the authorities, and keep a French fry fanatic ferret happy. It takes all of them.

ORDER THE BOOK: Indiebound | Amazon | Barnes and Noble | Books-A-MillionIndigo

————————————————————————————————————

 

 

OCEAN SPEAKS: MARIE THARP AND THE MAP THAT CHANGED THE EARTH (with Tundra Books, 2020)

ASK ME ANYTHING WITH DR. SUGARPAWS (with Scholastic, 2020)

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *